‘Homecoming’ (Acrostics are not real poems)

So I’ve been super-busy today. It’s ISU’s Cytenniel Homecoming celebration.

I just got back from the football game, where the Cyclones beat the Baylor Bears 35-21, and while I was there cheering, I did what any lazy poet would do: I wrote an acrostic about Homecoming. Here it is. Enjoy!

” Homecoming
by Maggie McGinity

However far I must travel
Over pavement, over gravel,
May my wandering bring me
Ever back to loving thee.
Cold is life without home in it
Oh, my journey, how I loathed to begin it.
Miles and miles, which separate,
I
nvested for a better fate.
N
ow I find my journey’s end
G
rant me entrance, home and friend.”

And quote:

“A man travels the world over in search of what he needs and returns home to find it.”
-George Augustus Moore

2 thoughts on “‘Homecoming’ (Acrostics are not real poems)

Leave a Reply

