‘Weird’ (new poem)

I once heard that you should measure a year in love. If so, I am a rich woman.

I sometimes express my affection for others in strange ways. My friends and family can attest to this. For example, I like to call people I like “weird.” It’s a compliment coming from me, a praise to someone’s individuality.

Unfortunately, some people take it as an insult. I once had to stop calling someone weird for 40 days when I gave up insults for Lent. That was hard for me, because I never mean weird to be insulting. Whenever I say “You’re so weird,” I actually mean this:

” Weird
by Maggie McGinity

Wonderful, words are not enough to
Express in how many ways my life
Is different since the day I met you.
Readily I admit that I
Do not know what to do with a normal life.

Sometimes I know, if I had it to do
Over, and over, I would still choose:

Wonderful, words are not enough to
Express how much better my life
Is for knowing you.
Readily I admit that I
Don’t want anything to do with a normal life. ”

And now, a cliché quote about being weird:

“We are all a little weird and life’s a little weird, and when we find someone whose weirdness is compatible with ours, we join up with them and fall in mutual weirdness and call it love.”
-Dr. Seuss

Leave a Reply

