‘The Walls’ (scary poem for Halloween)

I write more poetry around Nick and Sarah than I thought I did. When I was looking through my iPod, I found a poem about claustrophobia, which I occasionally have. Allegedly it was written on September 17.

I said I wanted to write something, but couldn’t decide on a topic. Nick said to write about the walls, so I did. This poem is a little bit inspired by the trash compactor scene from Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope.

 

In my poem, though, I more imagined all walls moving in simultaneously instead of just two on opposite sides of the room. Here it is:

The Walls
by Maggie McGinity

The walls are closing in around me
Brick and mortar now surround me
Suffocating in this space, I
Wonder if they’ll find a trace

No one is coming to save me
This is what the wanting gave me
The walls are closing in around me
Never know who would have found me”

Quote:

“The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.”
-Franklin Delano Roosevelt

Leave a Reply

