No such luck/ ‘Traveling Hearts’ (new poem)

So I want to risk. But I can’t today. It’s impossible to jump off a cliff when you’re stuck in a valley.

Let me clarify: A metaphorical cliff.

A metaphorical valley.

My metaphorical places are very pretty. Anyways, I didn’t get to risk today. I told the universe, “I want to wait one day,” and the universe replied, “Great! You shall wait one week.”

I’ve been very productive with other things today, but the risking is related to the poetry, and so just a really short poem today. This poem, until now, has only been spoken aloud to a friend of mine. She recently took a similar risk and it worked out really well for her. I hope soon I can say the same. Enjoy!

Traveling Hearts
By Maggie McGinity

Traveling eyes,
Traveling hearts:
How and why we’re
Torn apart.”

And quote:

“Men trust God by risking rejection. Women trust God by waiting.”
-Carolyn McCulley

Leave a Reply

