‘Accelerando Heartbeat’ (new poem)

Hi! I finally got to risk yesterday, but I have no idea how it went. It was a kind of passive risk: a message. I still don’t know if my message has been received and that’s what worrying me most, not what the response will be. If it’s never received, there will never be a response, and that’s the worst possible outcome.

This poem is about the moment when I finally got to risk. For you nonmusical people, here is a definition.

Accelerando – Gradually accelerating or quickening in time. Used chiefly as a direction.

This is a term most musicians know and find in their music quite frequently. That should help clarify the title. Enjoy!

Accelerando Heartbeat
By Maggie McGinity

Not fake laughter.
Nervous laughter.
I can’t handle
The heart I’m after
Accelerando, heartbeat
Faster, faster
Press on my lungs
The air can’t catch here

See the world inverted
Blue and green
Turn away
From the silver screen
Where is the script
To make things right?
The lines to bring us
Back to life

Second chances
Learn to fly
Will my wings bring me
Home
Or to the sky?”

Proverb:

“Four things come not back: the spoken word, the sped arrow, the past life and the neglected opportunity.

Leave a Reply

