‘Dreamland’ (new poem)

I need a dream catcher, to keep away the nightmares so more good dreams can get in.

I had a dream last night, the first one I’ve had for a long time. I lived in it all day, recalling it as I went through my busy schedule. This poem is about it. I’m aiming for 10 hours of sleep tonight (ambitious girl, I know), and hopefully I can revisit it. But you can visit it right now. Enjoy!

Dreamland
By Maggie McGinity

Dreamland
Take me back again
To a strange and dark
Version of my room
To a hopeless heart’s
Memories in bloom

Dreamland
Carry me through corridors
Leave me wanting more
But never leave me

Dreamland
Catch my soul
Steal away this
Wasting away
Woman all too bold

Sunlight
Holds me hostage
Won’t let me turn away
From the deep and dreary discoveries
Of every loveless day

Sunlight
Pushes forward
For time marches on
Passes me by while
I grab at what is gone

Dreamland, call me to you
Pull me to your depths
Hold me so much longer
Than I have ever slept

Dreamland, save me from this
Cold, unfeeling sun
Take me back to the sweet darkness
Where the dream was begun.”

Harry Potter quote:

“It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.”
-Albus Dumbledore

Leave a Reply

