‘Green-Eyed (S)Cowl’ (new poem)

I hate being unproductive. Long I have tried to find something useful to do while watching movies and going on long car rides. I finally found it: knitting. I started knitting in May; I’m self-taught. I just finished my first project, a green cowl, and I’m working on a scarf now which should be done in a few days.

 

This is the cowl. I wrote a poem about it. Enjoy!

Green-Eyed (S)Cowl
By Maggie McGinity

Someone once told me
My eyes were blue
I thought to myself,
“No, dear, that’s you.”

So I set out to stop
Future confusion
Foolish feet
And persistent illusions

To make sure everything
Is what it should seem
With a scowl, I knitted
One cowl from one skein
For when worn, my eyes look
Cold and mean
And very, very much
Green.”

Quote about jealousy:

“Jealousy is no more than feeling alone against smiling enemies.”
-Elizabeth Bowen

Quote about knitting:

“Properly practiced, knitting soothes the troubled spirit, and it doesn’t hurt the untroubled spirit, either.”
-Elizabeth Zimmerman

Leave a Reply

