Post 50!!/’I’m Golden’ (new poem)

This is my 50th post!! 😀

 

So much excitement for this post! Of course, when I thought of 50th, my mind went to 50th wedding anniversary, which I already knew (and then confirmed with some internet research) is the Golden Anniversary. Oooh. Aaah.

 

I do enjoy shiny things, and gold is quite shiny. This rare but popular metal and color inspired tonight’s poem. Enjoy!

I’m Golden
By Maggie McGinity

Going for gold
And I don’t get it
Don’t make a goal
Can’t make a hit

I won’t be the first
I’ve seen the first
She deserves it

Silly bet, friend
And I’ll say it again
The best bet is
Against myself

I promise you
I’ll see this through
This isn’t sabotage
Maybe my heart
Needs a brand new start
I’m no good at camouflage

But for every second
Going it alone
I can’t recommend
This lonely throne
You all tiptoe around me
Afraid to say
That though love surrounds me
Single I’ll stay

I would love
To live
To see
A golden anniversary
But I don’t know if that’s for me

I’m already running late
How many months
Since my last date?
And fate has a funny way
Of reminding me

In most things,
I’ve got it made
My success
Won’t be delayed
But my heart’s
The price to pay
In this focused foolery”

Quote about being single:

“The trouble is not that I am single and likely to stay single, but that I am lonely and likely to stay lonely.”
-Charlotte Brontë

Funny quote I found about being married 🙂   :

“Before marriage, a man will go home and lie awake all night thinking about something you said; after marriage, he’ll go to sleep before you finish saying it.”
-Helen Rowland
One thought on “Post 50!!/’I’m Golden’ (new poem)

  1. Pingback: My Yttrium « danakorneisel

Leave a Reply

