‘It’s a Mystery’ (new poem)

Last night I encountered a mystery, and it reminded me of a poem I wrote this summer.

 

This summer I found myself in a rather unfortunate situation. So instead of focusing on my own problems, which seemed insurmountable, I tried to help someone else overcome theirs. This person didn’t ask for my help, but some people who knew this person asked me to help, and I thought, “Why not? I can’t save myself, might as well try to save someone else.”

It didn’t work. I’m told I did make progress, but circumstances became such that I couldn’t really help any more. Nonetheless, before that happened I wrote this poem. Broken people and I have interesting friendships which I do not always understand, and that is what this poem is mostly about. Enjoy!

It’s a Mystery
By Maggie McGinity

It’s a mystery
What you do to me
When you stare into my eyes
It’s a mystery

It’s a mystery
Why I can’t see
Behind this thin disguise
It’s a mystery

There’s a disconnect
Between my intellect
And what I recollect of you
There’s discrepancy
Between you and me
And the places we’re heading to

I love the attention you pay to me
When you can recall
But it seems like your consistency
Is too much love for all
My only speciality
Is the too hard, too fast fall
But is that this? That’s the mystery
Which haunts me down the hall

I know, I know much better
Than another green-eyed boy
They taunt me, tease me, turn me out,
Make me their little toy
Their nothingness they shout
Like it’s their greatest joy
I know so so much better
Than another green-eyed boy

But they say there’s something underneath
Something I want to find
Though that something behind the sheath
I may never claim as mine
Just the single chance to prove
“You’re not like you, you’re like me!”
A broken soul with a broken goal
All for the mystery

It’s a mystery
What you do to me
When you stare into my eyes
It’s a mystery
Why I can’t see
Beyond this damaged life
It’s a naïve greed
Distracting need
To get me through the night
It’s a mystery:
All I want for me
Is a chance to set you right.”

Two quotes:

“It is only through mystery and madness that the soul is revealed”
-Thomas Moore

“Mysteries are not necessarily miracles.”
-Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Leave a Reply

