‘Laundry Day’ (new poem)

So it’s laundry day.

 

Tonight is the last night I spend in my hometown for a few weeks. Tomorrow I go back to Iowa State at the end of Thanksgiving Break. I’m washing clothes before I go because it’s free here. I’m busy and tired packing today, so I wrote a short acrostic about what doing laundry at Iowa State is like. Enjoy!

Laundry Day
By Maggie McGinity

Legs are sore
And my arms hurt
Under-drawers
Nightgowns and skirts
Down the stairs and
Round the corner
Yes! There’s a machine open

Detergent, wash, wet clothes
And the only open dryer’s broken
Yeah, this is the way it always goes.”

Silly quote today:

“It is better to have loved and lost than to have to do forty pounds of laundry a week.”
-Laurence J. Peter

One thought on “‘Laundry Day’ (new poem)

Leave a Reply

