‘Toss Inside the Key’ (new poem)

I feel like a canary in a coal mine.

 

I don’t sing as much as I used to, and I take it as a bad sign. Anyways, I found a poem I wrote this summer which is also about caged things. Enjoy!

 

Toss Inside the Key
By Maggie McGinity

Bound and tied and gagged
You could never hurt me
Locked inside a cage
You could never hurt me
Toss inside the key
You could never free me
You can’t come near me
And you can never free me

You held my tongue with your words
You broke my home with your hurt
You tore my Truth with your Pretend
You left me lying in the end

You placed me in this cage
Asked for me to wait
So I did
Oh, I do
Not knowing what I’m waiting for

The door swings open
But I can’t see
Could I escape?
Do I have wings?
When you live for tomorrow
And not today
What do you do when tomorrow
Goes away?”

Quote:

“The truth will set you free. But not until it is finished with you.”
-David Foster Wallace

Leave a Reply

