‘Peach Cobbler’ (new poem)

How to scald a peach:
1. Dunk the peaches into a boiling water. Remove after 40 seconds.
2. Submerge the peaches in a bowl of ice water, and allow them to cool completely.

Abridged from How to Easily Peel Peaches

This summer I learned how to make peach cobbler.

It was delicious. But this semester I feel more like the peaches I learned how to scald. Blazing hot, then freezing cold. Especially now that winter’s coming and I can’t find compromise between the freezing outdoors and overheated indoors. Alas, I shall ne’er be comfortable again. At least not ’til spring. Enjoy the poem! 🙂

“Peach Cobbler
By Maggie McGinity

I have grown soft
And weak
And fragile as a peach
You scald the skin off me

So much easier than peeling
Back the layers of my soul
Drop me in boiling water
Then drench me in the cold

Rip me apart
Rip me too soon
I’m mush in your hands
Metaphor for “to swoon”

I shed my skin simply
At your request
Not daring or dimply
My insides undressed

Cut me with a knife
Or just words without letters?
Slice away. This peach life
Isn’t getting any better

Now I’m in pieces
Placed in a dish
You render me speechless
Grant me one last wish?

Please don’t hide me away
And leave me to bake.
Trapped in this scorching space,
With no way to escape?
Darling dearest,
Never near-est:
It’s more than I can take.”

So many quotes!

“What is hell? I maintain that it is the suffering of being unable to love.”
-Fyodor Dostoyevsky

“If you are going through hell, keep going.”
-Winston Churchill

“You better grab a hold and hold on for your life
Because you don’t get lucky twice”
-“Without the Bitter the Sweet Isn’t As Sweet” by Mayday Parade

Leave a Reply

