‘Ears’ (new poem)

The song I’m working on for my Musical Theatre I final has me thinking a lot about ears recently. Some people’s ears are boring, but some people’s ears are a very distinguishing feature. Occasionally I actually notice a person’s ears before I notice any other feature.

My cousin actually has pointed ears and therefore we claim he is a leprechaun. But I’ll write about those creatures another time. Enjoy!

Ears
By Maggie McGinity

Fleeing
Now seeing
Too?

First sight
Can’t hide
Too soon

I know
You know
I saw you

You know
I know
You saw me

But I didn’t faint
Or flame
Or flee

What an
Unexpected
Victory.”

Lyrics:

“How I’m hoping that his eyes and ears won’t misinform him.”
-“Will He Like Me?,” from “She Loves Me” by Bock and Harnick

Leave a Reply

