Pablo/ ‘(Dramatically)My Dreams’ (new poem)

Some poets make love poems, and love itself, look easy. I myself rarely write love poetry, because I rarely fall in love without becoming someone or something I hate in the process. Sometimes I think I secretly live to sigh, and my heart just pretends it wants to be happy because it’s expected to. But I like laughing too.

Anyways. Love poems. Pablo Neruda wrote some good stuff. Example:

I share this lovely poem with you because I referenced it in the poem posted below. Enjoy!

(Dramatically)My Dreams
By Maggie McGinity

My God
And other hearts’
Deities
May we always sing freely
Of your loves and laws and
Libraries

Words
My world
May I always write freely
With weight and worth and
Dignity

Pride, may you
Perish
Pass away without perplexities
I wish to live and love
Without you
Or complexities

Sloth, may you
Cease
Fall off the feet
Of persons who could better
But rest on ‘I could never
Compete.’

My heart
And other hysterical
Creatures
May you always love freely
Regardless of rules and rounds and
Reapers

Hands
My brand
May you always move freely
With growth and hope and
History

Ambition, may you
Amaze
Analyze and attack
Consume my calories
Secure success stories
Before my vision fades to black

Fate, may you
Flourish
Fold into the seams
Of my longing
Strife
As for to bring to
Life
(Dramatically)My dreams”

Quote:

“The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.”
-Eleanor Roosevelt

Lyrics:

“If I ever feel better
Remind me to spend some good time with you
You can give me your number
When it’s all over I’ll let you know”
-“If I Ever Feel Better” by Phoenix

Leave a Reply

