Messy/’What a State’ (new poem)

So my room was messy. And then I packed some of it up and went on Thanksgiving Break. And now I’ve been back for five days and I’m still not unpacked and the room is messier than ever.

 

I’ve been trying to clean for a while. Example: this poem, written to my roommate on September 25. It’s an uphill battle, but I may tackle some of it tonight. Enjoy!

What a State
By Maggie McGinity

Dear Sarah,

Our room is a mess
And it’s causing me stress.
Is it bugging you, too?
Here’s what we should do:

Tonight, we (I) will clean
To the best of our means.
Make things nice and neat.
Won’t that be a treat?

We’ll vacuum and sweep
Then our room we will keep
In this state for days
With a chore chart as our aid.

So knowing what’s at stake
A chore chart we must make.

Love,
Maggie

P.S. For fun that never stops,
Let’s put up our wall pops!”

Lyrics:

“Come on in, I’ve got to tell you what a state I’m in
I’ve got to tell you in my loudest tones
That I started looking for a warning sign”
-“A Warning Sign” by Coldplay

Leave a Reply

