‘Mandarin’ (new poem)/ ‘Don’t’ (new poem)

I have three great loves in this life:
1. My instruments

babygrand

2. My muses

muses

3. My creations

musicsheets

These three I treasure, value, and care for above all others, though they rarely treat me well in return. Recently I encountered a new flavor of muse which is not at all amusing. I have not been having a very fun day, but I have been writing a lot, short poems, little snippets of songs. I’m going to share two of them with you now. Enjoy!

Mandarin
By Maggie McGinity

I wish you were mine.
But I also kinda wish you were a clementine.
Then you’d be torn apart,
Eaten up inside,
And I’d be doing just fine.”

Don’t
By Maggie McGinity

I just want a little happiness.
I just want a little hope.
But I’m very glad, at the very least,
You still have it when I don’t.”

And quote:

“So though I can’t imagine how
I hope you’re happy
Right now”
-“Defying Gravity,” from the musical “Wicked,” written by Stephen Schwartz

Leave a Reply

