‘Friday Night Lights’/’Honey’ (new poem)

Netflix is a wonderful thing. I use it occasionally to watch shows and movies, but my sister devours series whole in a matter of weeks or days. Her current victim: “Friday Night Lights.”

fridaynightlights

 

We’re on Season Two right now. I kinda jumped in halfway through Season One when I got home for break.

I really really like this show, but it’s hard for me to watch. It’s hard to see such awesome shows of devotion, commitment, and love in the face of adversity while I myself am alone.

internet-web-lonely-valentines-day-ecards-someecards_large

I sometimes feel that loneliness is the greatest adversity. You have to stand straight up; you have no one to lean on. You can’t fall down; no one’s there to pick you up. If you get hurt, you have to heal yourself.

I’ve been quite lonely lately, as I knew I would be come winter break. I don’t have many friends left in my hometown; most of the people I care about and enjoy spending time with are usually at ISU. I actually have some ISU friends here, but I haven’t seen them since before break commenced. I wrote a rather short poem about my loneliness. Enjoy!

Honey
By Maggie McGinity

Does not the bee pollinate the flower,
And the flower give honey to the bee?
And yet, in this codependent world,
No one depends on me.”

And now two quotes from prominent and missed females:

“And the danger is that in this move toward new horizons and far directions, that I may lose what I have now, and not find anything except loneliness.”
-Sylvia Plath

“When you have nobody you can make a cup of tea for, when nobody needs you, that’s when I think life is over.”
-Audrey Hepburn

Leave a Reply

