‘Ode to the Missing Spring’ (possibly finished poem)

So Spring officially began a few days ago, on March 20, 2013. That means that we get to enjoy a burst of warm weather and new plant life, of greenery and we-can-go-outside-again wonder! Right?

image

Wrong. It’s snowing. Again. It’s snowing in my hometown, and there’s a 100% chance that it will snow in Ames within the next hour.

photo (6)

I’m missing Spring, so I wrote a poem about it. I’m not sure if this poem is finished yet, but I want to share it with you anyways. Enjoy!

Ode to the Missing Spring
By Maggie McGinity

I. ‘It is here!’ the calendar states.
‘Pull out your brooms,
Your pans and vacuums.
Time to brush off a clean slate.’

But the snow descends upon us now
Blanketing, pristine
And I shout to the heavens
(Wondering how),
‘We did not intend this kind of clean.’

Today we wandered out
In t-shirts, jackets, shorts.
The hottest day so far
We may report.

But the warmth of today will fade
To the wind chill of tonight
And all the plans we might have made
Vanish without a fight.

Thrice it’s snowed this month
Within which we hoped to say,
‘This is enough,’
To see the end of our tundra land,
And return to the season which we understand.

II. I sleep on the couch like I slept on the couch,
I stay up late like I stayed up late,
I eat too much like I ate too much,
But it is not the same.

My fingers flutter not to text,
My mind spins no witty replies.
My heart longs not for what is next;
No ‘Good night’ lights my eyes.

Too much time to blink, to sink in(to) thought,
To remember last Spring Break.
A trip down memory lane is not
The vacation I wanted to take.

I don’t want to be sad
While the other students party,
And reasons to be glad
Are neither lost nor tardy

But still my heart is spent,
Wasted on certain time and space:
I’m stuck in that moment,
While you’ve had me replaced.’

One:

“You can cut all the flowers, but you cannot keep Spring from coming.”
-Pablo Neruda

Two:

“Memories warm you up on the inside. But they also tear you apart.”
-“Kafka on the Shore,” by Haruki Murakami

Three quotes:

“The deep roots never doubt spring will come.”
-Marty Rubin

P.S. I apologize for the delay of this post. My computer has taken to overheating and crashing, and posting on my iPod is slow and almost impossible. This is a combination of my efforts on both machines. I’ll let you know if/when I find a solution to this technical problem. Thanks for bearing it with me 🙂

Leave a Reply

