‘Under a Friend’s Flag’ (new poem)

I’m too late, but by my book it’s still Saturday.

Under a Friend’s Flag
By Maggie McGinity

I cannot define one
Or claim that I have none.
Don’t know if I’m good or bad at it.
My camaraderie
Is not a commodity
Nor an easy habit.
Quiet girl with ticking mind
The first friendships she would find
Were forced and not their choosing.
So I hope you understand,
All banter is banned;
I cannot risk their losing.

The boys who claimed friendship
Then let their hearts slip
Into something more
These boys who ‘loved’ me
Knew little of me
But have now closed every door
Doggedly led on and let down
My arms around
False hearts and false hopes
Now I see each smile
As just one more mile
Down an ever-so-slippery slope

The world paws and pulls me
The world laughs and lulls me
In every wrong direction
This world, it would take me
This world, it would break me
And I’ve now no protection.
In arms I find refuge
These arms I can’t refuse
Never mind how long the holding
For under a friend’s flag
No chaste finger can wag
Nor offer an honest scolding

Oh heart, settle down
I can’t fool around
His love is not for me.
Dear heart, you’ll survive
We have our whole lives
Left for ‘eternity’
Heart, wait your turn
Oh when will you learn
You’re never meant to be.
Sole heart, soul, and wonder,
We’re still going under.
Treading water’s lost sufficiency.

When one has two
What can I do?
When the world can’t see
What’s left of me?
When two have one
I am undone.
When I’m finally free
Who’ll be for me?”

Quotes:

“A friend is someone who knows all about you and still loves you.”
-Elbert Hubbard

“How fickle my heart and how woozy my eyes
I struggle to find any truth in your lies
And now my heart stumbles on things I don’t know
My weakness I feel I must finally show
Lend me your hand and we’ll conquer them all
But lend me your heart and I’ll just let you fall
Lend me your eyes, I can change what you see
But your soul you must keep totally free”
-“Awake My Soul” by Mumford and Sons

Leave a Reply

