What?! A new Poem-a-Day Challenge(NaPoWriMo)??/’Confusion’ (new acrostic)

Did you know that it’s National Poetry Month?

Well, I didn’t either, until a few hours ago. There’s also a National Poetry Writing Month challenge, 1 poem per day all April, so I figure I might as well do that. I’ve done poem-a-day for more than a month before, I can do a month now.

napo2013button2

 

Like I said earlier, I just found out about this, so I’ve had limited time to put a poem together. For short poetry-writing sessions, I work well with a set of boundaries, so I decided on an acrostic for today. Enjoy!

Confusion
By Maggie McGinity

Can I make things more clear,
Or let it show here?
No. Absolutely not.
Finding words for my fix,
Using meanings which mix:
Sometimes, they’re all I’ve got.
Inquisitive eyes
Often find mine,
Never knowing what they’ve wrought.”

Quotes:

“We often confuse what we wish for with what is.”
-Neil Gaiman

“Much unhappiness has come into the world because of bewilderment and things left unsaid.”
-Fyodor Dostoyevsky

“It’s funny. All you have to do is say something nobody understands and they’ll do practically anything you want them to.”
-J.D. Salinger

Leave a Reply

