‘Lucid’ (new poem)

I just woke up. Obvious subject choice.

Lucid
By Maggie McGinity

Now I lay down to nap
Trading minutes for hours
Never quite beneath sleep’s trap
I’m seeing songs and showers

Warm beneath layers of soft
I feel that I’m uncovered
Laying down, I walk aloft
To places I’ve not discovered

Like a drunk or a drugging
Not quite beyond help
I’m hearing real things
But know them somewhere else

My brain tricks me afraid,
But my mind knows what I’ve seen,
‘Half-in, don’t be dismayed;
We are only but a dream.'”

Quotes:

“Why live life from dream to dream,
And dread the day when dreaming ends?”
-“Someday I’ll Fly Away,” from the film Moulin Rouge

“Those who dream by day are cognizant of many things which escape those who dream only by night.”
-“Eleonora,” by Edgar Allan Poe

Leave a Reply

