‘The Only One(Dancing)’ (new poem)

Broken washing machine. Boring but extremely productive day of rest. Where I am it is still Sunday, and I am not behind on my poetry.

I don’t understand why people play music at parties just to talk over it. I just want to dance. Or an extended hug, which is a little like a slow dance. Of course, I see many people doing a much more complicated kind of dance, often amongst silence, but I don’t want hidden agendas and intrigue and mixed messages. I just want to dance.

The Only One(Dancing)
By Maggie McGinity

The minutes move quickly here
Spinning far too swiftly
Would you lift me, dear?

Last night, I waltzed by myself
Wrapped in the trap I set
Lean two three, fall two three,
Caught as much as the wine would let

Now I sit too still
With my thoughts too stable
Working what I will
As long as I am able

Today’s flat as a floor
Thought I did more than most
Even this late, sleep’s shore
Is a very distant coast

I’ve tried all these tricks
I’m told bring happiness
I spent today half-sick,
Half-starved, half full-as-a-tick

Three halves don’t make a whole.
Trip two three, what is my role?
Which scene are we on?
Losing her spots, this fawn

Seeing spots, this girl.
Can, too, we twirl?
In this sobering world
I am lost

But only for a dream’s cost.”

Quotes:

“I don’t want people who want to dance, I want people who have to dance. ”
-George Balanchine

“Art is the only way to run away without leaving home.”
-Twyla Tharp

Leave a Reply

