‘The Afterthought’ (new poem)

I started writing this poem yesterday and just finished it a few hours ago. I’m beginning to find that I can write poetry about a specific memory or event much better if I return to the place I was when that memory was formed or that event took place.

I started writing this poem near where the memory it’s based on happened, and once I moved away from that spot, I had a lot of trouble finishing it. I think this new revelation about my own writing will lead to a lot of poetry-writing trips, maybe even hopefully some road trips :). Anyways, enjoy!

The Afterthought
By Maggie McGinity

‘And you, too,
If it’s something you’d want to do,’
She turned back and looked at you.

You accepted without hesitation.
I observed with indignation,
For I thought her invitation
Was only mine(miscommunication).

They told this day,
“Be all two-by-two.”
Three friends on a date:
Not the usual mood.
But not alone is something
On this day the love thing wants
To exclude the hurt and hunting,
Feel without date, you’re a dunce.

So I learned not to mind,
And besides,
Which one of us was the wheel?
I was behind
It, but neither tried
The other’s attention to steal.
She was the center
Before this reel.

But now the world has a funny way
Of changing plans and making days.
Which is best? I couldn’t say.
Neither could I take away.

So I will keep the nonchalance
Which got me through a three-date once,
Find new rhymes for the same old words
These hearts will not be overheard.
I’ll keep nonsense upon my lips
And for all’s sake
Never let slip.”

Quotes:

“Three things cannot be long hidden: the sun, the moon, and the truth.”
-Buddha

“Three grand essentials to happiness in this life are something to do, something to love, and something to hope for.”
-Joseph Addison

“But don’t change on hair for me.
Not if you care for me.
Stay, little Valentine, stay.
Each day is Valentine’s Day.”
-“My Funny Valentine,” from “Babes in Arms”

Leave a Reply

