‘Elvish’ (new poem)

Too tired for explanations.

Elvish
By Maggie McGinity

Speak the truth,
And I’m not honest.
I am selfish.
I am mean.

Hate the truth
Without a purpose.
I am elvish,
Forest green.

Gain the truth
With little effort,
But blindly. Wish
I’d sooner seen.

Fear the truth
All its haunt/hurt.
I cannot dish
Where I have been

Want the truth
To turn the tide,
To find a niche
For what I mean

All the truth
Just cannot hide.
Please don’t dismiss.
(In time) All things come clean.”

Uno quote:

“The rules do not apply
And then he smiles
And nothing else makes sense
While he invents
The world that’s passing by
And I’m a part of that
Aren’t I?”
-“A Part of That,” from “The Last 5 Years”

Leave a Reply

