‘In the Company of Conscious Friends'(new poem)

Tonight, I’m reclaiming my independence.

Tonight, I’m gaining my happiness.

Tonight, I’m going to sleep.

In the Company of Conscious Friends
By Maggie McGinity

I’d like to sleep
Alone
Beneath my blanket fort
(More like a blanket hoard)
Or in the company of conscious friends
When, time and time again,
Sleep stumps studying.

We’re adult children
No bedtimes
Just deadlines
Having a contest
Who can sleep less?
Stay up the latest
You must be the greatest

Sleep deprivation
Is not cause for celebration.
Red, weary eyes
Are not a prize.
(Though if they were, I’d win.
Up ’til almost six, I’d been
Friday night/Saturday mornin’)

But still, every night
We keep on the light
Giving our books
Uncertain looks.
Our presence distracting,
We’re always reacting,
But I wouldn’t shake
The problem that keeps me awake.

So if I’m stuck thinking,
Writing, reading, blinking,
Anyways
I’d rather spend my days
Linking
Up with obnoxious,
Semi-conscious friends

Because every night must end.
But the scrutiny,
Of reality,
Its delay we can extend.

Sleep keeps me conscious
When I’d rather not be.
I never see you in my dreams.
But I’m still believing,
Each day or evening,
You’ll be seeing me.”

Quotes:

“Fatigue is the safest sleep draught.”
-Virgina Woolf

“The woods are lovely, dark, and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.”
-“Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening,” by Robert Frost

“A good laugh and a long sleep are the best two cures for anything.”
-Irish proverb

Leave a Reply

