‘Stinger'(new poem)

I read a really awesome article today. It explains why creative people are the way they are. Apparently we’re extroverted and introverted at the same time, which should explain this poem. Enjoy!

Stinger
By Maggie McGinity

I am shaking?
I am shaken.
I’m not shocked or sure or mistaken.

People are always choosing,
But so rarely choosing me
And it stings.
While they talk around me,
When they look right through me
It stings.

And this is just something life brings.
My life has always been
A little bit lonelier than most.
So relying on no one
I learned to go on
In silence I’d coast

Here, though, I found faces
Who would face me,
Embrace me
The way I was
I found minds
Somewhat like mine
Smile and laugh in kind
Just because

But as we grow and change
My thoughts do rearrange
Conversations I once loved
Now make me say, ‘What was I thinking of?’
Though alone I’ve often been
Now feeling it feels like a sin
And stings me more than any acquaintance could
Alone among friends who I know would
Fight for me
Lie for me
Cry for me

Some days I must be misunderstood
Some days I feel it more than I should
Most days, you bring me only good
But lonely is what loners do
And tonight, I’d rather go alone
Than stick it out with you.”

Quotes:

“It’s better to be unhappy alone than unhappy with someone.”
-Marilyn Monroe

“I don’t want to be alone, I want to be left alone.”
-Audrey Hepburn

Leave a Reply

