Should I be shocked?/’Same Old, Same Old'(new poem)

OK. So by now I would assume that everyone has heard about the Boston Marathon explosions today, but assumptions are dangerous even in the best of circumstances, so I won’t.

In case you haven’t heard, today around 2:50 p.m. Eastern time, two explosions happened near the finish line of the Boston Marathon. At least three people are dead, including an 8-year-old boy, and at least 100 more are injured. More explosive devices were found and disabled by police.

I heard about the explosions shortly after they happened and, being a journalism student, have been following/posting/sharing new updates and information (like this raw footage video of the explosions, not for the faint of heart) about it all day. I’ve also been writing poems about it. I started one in my mind earlier, but it’s not finished yet.

This poem came to me as I was walking back to my dorm room after performing in the Flute Studio Recital. When I started it, I thought, “Shouldn’t I be writing about the Boston Marathon explosions?” but it was flowing so well that I just decided to let it keep going. Little did I know that I was writing about the Boston Marathon explosions. Someday I’ll publish my poems without these explanatory introductions, and then they’ll have mystery and an element of surprise.

And, sadly, their meanings and endings will be more shocking than senseless violence happening, the killing of innocent persons, is in this country.

Same Old, Same Old
By Maggie McGinity

Same old, same old
Quiet, kind, cold
Day

Same old, same old
Concert. Same bold
Pieces which to play.

Same old tired.
Same old ‘one hour of free.’
Same old wires
Connecting you and me.

Same old hateful
For still to need,
But same old thankful
For still to breathe.

So ‘same old, same old”s
More than alright with me.
Staring, so cold,
Stuck on this same old, same old
Tragedy.”

Quotes:

“This will be our reply to violence: to make music more intensely, more beautifully, more devotedly than ever before.”
-Leonard Bernstein

“It’s not the bullet with my name on it that worries me.  It’s the one that says ‘To whom it may concern.'”
-Anonymous resident of Belfast, Ireland, 1991. Belfast was the location of the largest command center of the Provisional Irish Republican Army, a paramilitary organization who tried, through violence, to separate Northern Ireland from the United Kingdom. Belfast was subsequently a site of much explosion and crossfire.

Leave a Reply

