Threesome(new poems “Intro Poem,” “6 Days,” and “In this Time”)

Intro Poem
By Maggie McGinity

We’re going to play with font today.
I hope my words don’t scare you away.
But if you dare or choose to stay,
You may see beauty on this page.

Three poems ripe and ‘ready-read.
Three poems floating through my head.
Born out of dread,
Then hope instead,
Today.”

 

6 Days
By Maggie McGinity

Let me tell you about my life.
Turns out everyone else was right
And I was wrong.

Let me tell you about my years,
Wasted in faults and fears
For far too long.

Assumptions can be the most dangerous thing
When they force you to live your life dangerously
In love with strange conditions and rules.

Crazy? Or lazy excuses to stay?
Watch him take your breath away.
Die (inside), a lover’s fool.

If I had a time machine,
I’d un-see the things I’ve seen.
Know their truths before they become my only one.

But the hardest chapter past,
Its poems and songs made to last.
Can I regret what has been done

To me?

… couldn’t see …

… jokingly …

… can’t breathe …

Yes. Yes, I can.
Though tortured artist, prolific, honest, I am.
Please, please don’t steal my breath.
I loved your life. (Please) Don’t leave me death.”

 

In This Time
By Maggie McGinity

In this moment.
In this time.
I am in love with my life.

Happiness is never (too) far away.
It can be bought with food
Or a rainy day.
And if I’m happy for reasons I shouldn’t,
Being wrong I wouldn’t
Mind. I’d never choose
Right over laughing with you

Let the past be past,
Though it will last
In my heart, and in my mind.
But fading, ever fading
Fast.

Let the future remain unseen,
But pray it’s comfort and ever clean.
My heart is evergreen
Forever seeking
To make my future exactly what I mean
It to be.

Caught here in the in-between
Smiling is my only dream

And happiness is never (too) far away.
It can be bought with food
Or a rainy day.
Though it’s not mine,
In this happiness I find
Such relief
So sweet.
Down this line
I don’t mind
Not being right.

For in this moment,
In this time,
I am in love with my life.”

Citations d’inspiration:

“I’ll snap my fingers to show I don’t care
I’ll buy me a brand new dress to wear
I’ll scrub my neck
And I’ll brush my hair
And start all over again!”
-“Many a New Day,” from “Oklahoma”

“There now, steady, love,
So few come and don’t go.
Will you, won’t you,
Be the one I’ll always know?”
-“Look After You,” by The Fray

“Be in love with your life. Every minute of it.”
-Jack Kerouac

Leave a Reply

