‘Complete You'(new poem)

Too busy to write a new poem because I’m busy writing a 12-to-15-page “assignment”(I think this professor and I have different vernaculars), so I’m posting something older, which I wrote in August 2012 while showering in my family’s suite(we had a vacation timeshare membership, we gave it up, we’re better off than most but not so rich that “suite” is a usual thing for us by any means) in Valdoro Mountain Lodge in Breckenridge, Colorado.

Welcome to the Valdoro Mountain Lodge, A Hilton Grand Vacation Club Resort!

Pretty, no? I miss it, even though I had altitude sickness a couple days. Quick shoutout to an awesome restaurant: If you’re in need of fast, unusual, delicious pizza in Breckenridge, hit up Extreme Pizza.

Where I write things is very important to me, almost as important as who and what I write about. This is why I include this information. I, like most people I know, get my best ideas in the shower. For me, though, they tend to be poems and songs.

I’ve been many places, and I’ve seen many things, but I’m still looking.

Complete You
By Maggie McGinity

I can see you
I can hear you
I can feel you
I don’t know you

I can dream you
I can teach you
I can breathe you
I don’t own you

Know you’re out there
But without care
I do not dare
To meet you

For I’m not whole
Don’t know my role
How could this soul
Complete you?”

Obvious quote:

“I promise you kid, that I’ll give so much more than I get
I just haven’t met you yet”
-“Haven’t Met You Yet,” by Michael Buble

A bit more obscure:

“I think it’s very healthy to spend time alone. You need to know how to be alone and not be defined by another person.”
-Olivia Wilde

“It’s so easy to fall in love, but hard to find someone who will catch you.”
-Anonymous

Leave a Reply

