‘The Everyday Riddle’ (new poem)

I have a cold, and it’s making me overdramatic. Or I’ve had a life and it’s making me hurt and frantic. Or I was just an emo kid and I never grew out of it. You decide. These words you haven’t heard have their own life.

“The Everyday Riddle
By Maggie McGinity

I don’t know why someone would want to
Come to this tomb,
This wreck of a room,
Where the flowers feel as dead as their master.

I don’t know why someone would dare to
Step foot inside
Where dreams go to die,
Failing faster and faster

I don’t know why someone would wake up
This numb and tattered core
I don’t know what all your words
Are for

I don’t know why I walk like a coffin,
Killing others’ fantasies often.
Why worry about losing my breath
When half my days I feel like death?

I don’t know why someone would come to
This well-lit grave,
Poor-promise-paved,
Where flowers look as dead as their master.

I don’t know why someone would enter
This storm and strife.
All good things in life
Can’t last here.”

Answer my quote?

“What is he that builds stronger than either the mason, the shipwright, or the carpenter?”
-“Hamlet,” by William Shakespeare

Leave a Reply

