‘Hap’s Hazard'(new poem)

Hap’s Hazard
By Maggie McGinity

There is not enough of me
For all the me’s there are supposed to be.

My throat burns and stings
Because I had to sing,
Let my voice ring,
Join the multitude and bring
Up the house.

This pointless suffering
I’m no closer to the things
I truly want.
This haphazard hunt.
I can barely swallow
The fell-by-the-wayside tasks I must follow.

And there is no time
No time for making things better
Barely any for getting things done
And the list runs on and on
Forever

There will never be a day
When I have nothing to do
Until my life is through
And even then,
The uncrossed items
Will stay upon the page
Fruitlessly laying in wait.

Oh, but for a brief reprieve
An out-of-body or a leave
Of absence
Just my presence
To not be needed fifty places at once.
This isn’t what I want.
I can barely eat or breathe.
Enough.”

Quotes:

““Those who are wise won’t be busy, and those who are too busy can’t be wise.”
-“The Importance of Living,” by Lin Yutang

Leave a Reply

