‘A Mask of Jade’ (new poem)

London.

London full of tourists.

London full of smokers.

London lacking cherry coke.

alas.

“A Mask of Jade

By Maggie McGinity 
 
London is passé.
Sick of tourism. I’d like 
To stay, here, always.
 
Can’t stand one more day.
Not in zone one, two. I’d like
To stay, there, always.”
 
Quotes:
“Once upon a time I was falling in love 
But now I’m only falling apart 
There’s nothing I can do 
A total eclipse of the heart”
– “Total Eclipse of the Heart” by Bonnie Tyler 
 
“You put me on the line
And hung me out to dry
And darling that’s when I
Decided to go to sea.”
-“Swallowed in the Sea,” by Coldplay
Leave a Reply

