‘Sometime(Give Me a Chance’ (new poem)

Hello again!

I’ve been a nomad this last month, setting my suitcase down one place just to pick up and move on to another. I’ve been in five different countries within two weeks, including the United States, and called so many different rooms home. I’ve learned how to carry with me only what’s important, to leave the rest behind, though I own so much more than I could ever carry.

suitcase

I’ve gotten very good at leaving things behind and not giving them a second glance. I’ve gotten very good at only being the places I’m expected to be, and only being there when I have to be. I’ve become excellent at sleeping, at sloth, and at forgetting my other endeavours without a second thought.

For this I apologize. I’ve left my words, and this blog, out to dry. But I’m finally beginning to feel not jetlagged and only slightly exhausted, and I’ve been writing. I hope you’ll find my words not as easily abandoned as most things in my life.

Sometime(Give Me a Chance)
By Maggie McGinity

Give me a place to lay my head
On a floorboard, on a bed

Give me a break, to rest my soul
Til I gain some sensible control

Give me a shot to settle down
Lose this crowded, crammed crown

Give me a chance to find my mind
Before I’m driven blind

So close to my prime
Just give me
(Please) Give me
Some time.”

Quotes:

“What else should I be? All apologies.”
-“All Apologies,” by Nirvana

“And I don’t understand why I sleep all day
And I start to complain that there’s no rain
And all I can do is read a book to stay awake
And it rips my life away, but it’s a great escape”
-“No Rain,” by Blind Melon

Leave a Reply

