‘I Miss the Summers of Nothing'(new poem)

So as it’s summer, I have a little more free time(little being the operative term), and I’m spending it by working my way through two reading lists. I started working on them both during Christmas break, but I fell off the wagon Spring semester.

I’m going to post about Reading List 1 on Monday, and keep updating it as I read through books. In the meantime, I’m sharing this poem I wrote last night while I was getting reading for bed. I’m not sure why, but bathrooms in the middle of the night are where I do at least 80% of my writing.

Anyways, enjoy!

I Miss the Summers of Nothing
By Maggie McGinity

I miss the summers of nothing.
Not even the drummers drumming
While I marched beside my peers.
No, much further back than that,
Back when nothing was old hat
And no movement stirred my ears.

When I could hole away
Waste a droll and doldrum day
Discovering more words like doldrums
Could hold, and hear, and see
Characters with clarity.
No lesser love could fold them.

When I had to go to see(to sea),
I’d still carry with me
One book
(Or two)
(Or three!).
Consumed so readily,
Cherished so steadily,
Harbored so headily.
Welcome to my soul.

Nowadays
I write more than I read
Little pieces
To show people things
They’ve never seen
Am paid a pittance
For these (humble) offerings

Nowadays, I miss
That simple, summer bliss
Needing nothing to exist
But my book

And the next
On the list.”

Quotes:

“It is what you read when you don’t have to that determines what you will be when you can’t help it.”
-Oscar Wilde

“No matter how busy you may think you are, you must find time for reading, or surrender yourself to self-chosen ignorance.”
-Confucius

Leave a Reply

