Reading List 1: Quarter Life Crisis

I love reading, and I love having free time to read, which is actually happening this summer!

When I was younger, I would wander the teen literature section of my library, picking up whatever looked new, shiny, award-winning, interesting, or romantic.

But somewhere in the intersections of trying to figure out the direction of my life and Pinterest(which is what everyone in college is doing nowadays), I decided that I should start reading some books were more depth and less vampires. So I started reading not one, but two reading lists in December 2012. 2012 was not a fabulous year in my life and I don’t really want more like it, and I’ve heard that one of the best ways to invest in my future and myself is by reading.

I’ll include when I finish each novel, and color code them for you. Black equals unread, red means in progress, and blue means read. I’ll also try to post thoughts and/or a poem about each book read. Please forgive any strange color happenings, this is the first time I’ve used HTML coding for text colors since MySpace photo captions.

Reading List 1

A Quarter Life Crisis Girl’s Reading List,” found on Pinterest.

1. Confessions of a Shopaholic – Sophie Kinsella

2. Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen (February 2013)

3. Girls in White Dresses – Jennifer Close

4. The Girl’s Guide to Hunting and Fishing – Melissa Bank

5. Bitches on a Budget: Sage Advice for Surviving Tough Times in Style – Rosalyn Hoffman

6. What I Know Now: Letters to My Younger Self – Ellyn Spragins (reading through it now. I can get about 10 pages in per bus ride)

7. The Joy Luck Club – Amy Tan (read some excerpts in women’s lit class, June 2012, but haven’t had a chance to read through the whole thing yet)

8. What Did I Do Wrong? – Liz Pryor

9. 20-Something, 20-Everything: A Quarter-life Woman’s Guide to Balance and Direction – Christine Hassler

10. Single: The Art of Being Satisfied, Fulfilled, and Independent – Judy Ford

11. The Awakening – Kate Chopin (June 2012, women’s lit class)

12. Daughters of the North – Sarah Hall

13. Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn

14. Gone With the Wind – Margaret Mitchell

15. The Unbearable Lightness of Being – Milan Kundera

16. The Portable Dorothy Parker – Dorothy Parker

17. The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood

18. The Edible Woman – Margaret Atwood

19. A Place of Yes: 10 Rules for Getting Everything You Want Out of Life – Bethenny Frankel

20. The Secret Life of Bees – Sue Monk Kidd (I don’t remember exactly when, sometime in high school. I will consult my mother to see if she remembers, she owns the copy I read)

21. Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) – Mindy Kaling

22. Bossypants – Tina Fey

23. Let’s Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) – Jenny Lawson

24. Me Talk Pretty One Day – David Sedaris

25. Night – Elie Wiesel

26. Heartburn – Nora Ephron

27. The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath

28. Are You There, Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea – Chelsea Handler

29. Mother Night – Kurt Vonnegut

30. The Rise of Enlightened Sexism: How Pop Culture Took Us from Girl Power to Girls Gone Wild – Susan Douglas

Quote:

“Think before you speak. Read before you think.”
-Fran Lebowitz

“That perfect tranquility of life, which is nowhere to be found but in retreat, a faithful friend and a good library.”
-“The Lucky Chance, Or, the Alderman’s Bargain” by Aphra Behn

One thought on “Reading List 1: Quarter Life Crisis

  1. Pingback: Reading List 2: Rory Gilmore Challenge(or, why I should go live in a library) | Maggie McGinity

Leave a Reply

