‘Room to Think’ (new poem)

Some music makes me want to make music. Some music makes me want to make poetry.

This weekend I’m covering the 80/35 music festival in Des Moines for work. While down there earlier last night, I started writing two poems. One of them isn’t finished yet, but one is. Enjoy!

Room to Think
By Maggie McGinity

People walking in the street,
The sidewalk is the path to beat.
I really wish that I had brought some cash.

I should try not to speak,
If my voice I wish to keep.
At least my earplugs were built to last.

Tomorrow will be tennis shoes,
Black leather starting to abuse,
Flip flops found sure to fail fast.

Find it hard, the breathing here.
Smokers are never not near.
Occupational health hazard in my path?

The bands are not here to compete.
A full fans crowd would be a feat.
Still, there are worse ways to spend no cash.”

Quote:

“If I can’t dance to it, it’s not my revolution.”
-Emma Goldman

Leave a Reply

