Party Poems (‘They’re Going to Make Me Read You’ and ‘Lemon Soul’)

A made-up quote, which might exist somewhere or might be a mash-up, has been floating around my head recently, about how being comfortable is the opposite of making progress.

I’ve been stuck in some uncomfortable situations this weekend. As a shy non-smoker who usually commands a sizable and sometimes near tangible bubble of personal space, covering 80/35, a packed outdoor music festival full of smokers and strangers, and even hanging out with some new and old theatre friends later Saturday night while they smoked and sang show tunes was not what I’m used to.

So I coped, and I wrote, at the same time. The first of these I wrote on a piece of paper which I then hid in my iPod case; the second was crafted on a refrigerator. Enjoy!

‘They’re Going to Make Me Read You
By Maggie McGinity

I miss you.

You are a compilation,
The little bit of good in every man I’ve ever known.

If you were,
We’d be somewhere beautiful
And air-conditioned
Or if we were outside
We’d be somewhere nice
And cool

And no one would ever dream of anything
Wrong in this moment

If they’re standing, I’m sitting
I’m standing, they’re sat,
They’re dancing, I’m dreaming,
They’re bubbly, I’m flat.

There would be no pieces to hide
Or sweep under the rug.
All things are good enough
Even stupid rhymes for hugs.

Two by two isn’t all it’s cracked up to be,
As you might exist, but surely aren’t with me.
Still, strangers and someones and suckers I see
Make you, poor fool, all the more lovely
Than I imagined you to be.”

Lemon Soul
By Maggie McGinity

photo (9)

Quotes:

“Conformity is the jailer of freedom and the enemy of growth.”
-John F. Kennedy

“A thought, even a possibility, can shatter and transform us.”
-Friedrich Nietzsche

“I dwell in Possibility … ”
-Emily Dickinson

Leave a Reply

