‘Interest’ (new poem)

Recent events have upset me, and instead of dealing with this through the written word, as I usually do on this blog, I’m dealing with them through my two usual strategies:

1. Focusing on problems that aren’t the big, seemingly non-solvable problems which are not the big problems that are bugging me, and

2. Diving into a project or activity and completely submersing myself in it so I don’t have time or energy to think about anything else.

I’ve been doing both in various forms since I got back to my hometown. My siblings have been going out with friends all the time, and all I’ve been doing is practicing flute and cleaning. A month ago, I was interviewing rock stars, and now I feel like I’ve become incredibly boring.

However, I realized that interest, like beauty, is in the eye of the beholder, and that I, with my vision slowly but surely deteriorating(nearsighted since 3rd grade), am not necessarily the best person to see what’s interesting and/or intriguing about my life.

I also figured out that the project I’m working on, confronting one of the problems I used to avoid with my usual methods, is actually very interesting. There are a number of tv shows on the very same subject. I’ll tell you more about that later, but for now, an acrostic! Enjoy!

Interest
By Maggie McGinity

Introspection has no limit, it seems
No one really likes what they’ve seen
Turning outward, towards the world or the woes
Eruptions, besides, not below,
Rescues us more than a self-help book.
Ebony pupils, beckoning look.
Seldom the eyes do serve as mirrors
Taking, instead, aim at random dears.”

Quote:

“Spend a little more time trying to make something of yourself and a little less time trying to impress people.”
-The Breakfast Club

2 thoughts on “‘Interest’ (new poem)

  1. Pingback: ‘Unto You’ (new scholarship poem) | Maggie McGinity

  2. Pingback: ‘Unto You’ (new scholarship poem) | Maggie Lives

Leave a Reply

