Maggie Lives/Hoarder Reformation

This is it! This is the post so long foretold!

You may have noticed a few changes on my blog, namely the name and the look. This blog started out about my life and should stay that way, though this year it’s felt more like a poetry, poetry and more poetry blog.

The title is combating two problems I have. The first is the oppressive presence of death in my life. In late 2011 and early 2012, I knew someone who almost died, three people who did die, and we were entering the year of the Mayan apocalypse(which never happened). I was haunted and made a lot of stupid decisions mostly because I was afraid of dying without living first, which is foolish, because I’m alive right now and I live with the consequences of those decisions.

Incidentally, one of the main consequences of those decisions is poetry.

The second problem is that, as a journalist, I sometimes feel like I have to be an objective, factually accurate robot instead of a human being who is merely trying to help people by telling them things they may want/need to know.

So the new title is a constant, living statement reinforcing the fact that I am alive, that I live, that I breathe and think and feel and have a life, in any and every context.

Also, as this is my personal blog, I want it to feel more personal and less anonymous. Despite my well-founded fears of Internet crazies, I want to be able to share who I am. So, this is me:

993325_10152982699595543_1693318340_n

This is one of many changes I’ve been making in my life. This summer and fall I’ve been doing a lot of sorting, a lot of lifting, a lot of separating myself from unnecessary things so that I can say:

I Was a Hoarder

One of the best things about the past is that, while it may affect you, it doesn’t have to define you.

I used to be a mild hoarder. That’s the best term I have for someone who is ok with having the amount of stuff, the level of disorganization, and the sheer volume of clutter I once had.

Before you go looking for me on TLC, catch the past tense verbs. I am no longer as I was. I no longer live like this:

photo-5

photo-6

photo-7

photo-8

Obviously I had a lot of work to do. I mostly did that work by taking things and putting them into boxes, then sending those boxes out the door(and into someone else’s room or Goodwill).

clothes1

clothes2

I managed to bring a lot less stuff to college this year than I usually do and most of it is organized and cleaned, some of it through a cleaning spree I just did to make this post about my new organized life not a lie.

Here are some examples of organized spaces which I now utilize in my life, which work fairly efficiently and mostly have things I use on a regular basis:

photo (14)

photo (16)

I am by no means a perfectly functioning creature now, but things are sooooooo much better now that I can actually find things and only own things I know to be useful/find to be beautiful.

Expect all sorts of things from my future, but especially poems, probably a new one later today. Upheaval begets creations and has given me a lot to write about.

Quotes:

“Never give up on a dream just because of the time it will take to accomplish it. The time will pass anyway.” – Earl Nightingale

“Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful.” – William Morris

One thought on “Maggie Lives/Hoarder Reformation

  1. Pingback: The House Showings and the Forced Clean Room | Maggie Lives

Leave a Reply

