‘Anything?’ (new poem)

Short, sweet, simple, and written last week.

Some promised posts really keep me from my poemetry, but this next one won’t. Look out for a short series of poems inspired by music I have stuck in my head next week.

Without further ado:

Anything?
By Maggie McGinity

I had so many dreams and schemes for today
But when I saw you, I threw them away
Knowing nothing could top your chance to say
Anything.

This happens less often than I’d like it to.
Things of significance never come through.
But when my mind has little to do
And can think of anything

You are the only thing
It wanders to.”

Side note: I need to re-watch “Say Anything” sometime soon.

Quotes chronologically:

“He made the world to be a grassy road Before her wandering feet.” – W.B. Yeats

“There’s this tune I found that makes me think of you somehow and I play it on repeat,” – “Do I Wanna Know?’ by Arctic Monkeys

Leave a Reply

