‘Caustic Comment’ (new poem) + ‘Can’t Get You Out Of My Head’

Light song, dark poem?

Light song, dark meaning?

No, from that video, seems like light song, light meaning, one meaning. Not like this poem. This poem is … well, I’ll let you decide what this poem is for yourself. Enjoy!

Caustic Comment
By Maggie McGinity

I want to leave and sleep
Let my heart its secrets keep
(Let my heart its secrets keep
Awhile longer)

I see where this is going.
I know the ways of showing
Up
The soulmates have
In the lives of the people I love
(And every day, that love
Is growing stronger)

These troubles I tomorrowed.
Like b’loved books I borrowed,
Support of their pre-marked spines
Could never stay mine
(A silent scream as my heart
Takes me hostage)

So let me leave and sleep
Silence, distance keep
I know enough to see when I have lost it.
(I had no way of knowing
What the cost is)”

Quotes:

“I just can’t get you out of my head
Boy, its more than I dare to think about”
-“Can’t Get You Out Of My Head” by Kylie Minogue

“I think Hell is something you carry around with you. Now somewhere you go.” – Neil Gaiman

“And if you couldn’t be loved, the next best thing was to be let alone.” – L.M. Montgomery

One thought on “‘Caustic Comment’ (new poem) + ‘Can’t Get You Out Of My Head’

  1. Pingback: Happy Anniversary + ‘Can’t Get You Out of My Head’ poem series | Maggie Lives

Leave a Reply

