‘Still/Beating’ (new poem) + CGYOOMH ‘Fluorescent Adolescent’ and ‘The Best I Ever Had’

So for this installment of the poorly acronymed “Can’t Get You Out of My Head” poem series, I focused on these two songs, which share the line “The best I ever had/The best you ever had.”

Fluorescent Adolescent/The Best I Ever Had

Unlike these songs, however, I tend not to focus on the best I ever had, because even that isn’t all that fabulous. Instead, I tend to worry and daydream about missed opportunities and moments and crushes that I, with my inability to read a room, find out about years after they’ve dissipated. These are the worst, the would’ve, could’ve, should’ve’s. At least with what has been, you can hold the ashes in your hand and know. But what could’ve been? Well, you can read about it. Enjoy!

Still/Beating

Looking for reasons to walk away
What were you afraid of?
Now in that moment you want to stay
Knowing what it was made of.

Secrets lost and secrets keep
Themselves in their own order.
Burrow down, don’t make a peep,
Bonding on their border.

These atoms and
These nuclei
They won’t leave me alone.
We are all made
Of the same days,
The building blocks of bones.

And in my mind
I find
A should’ve: Should’ve
Been alone.

Little looks and lifelong locks
Strangers for the catching.
Took off long before the talks
Now back, missing the matching.

These brushes and
This backsliding
I’m loathe to call my own.
We are all made
Of the same days,
Throw us towards the throne.

And in my mind
I find
A would’ve: Would’ve
If I’d known.

Fears and years don’t stay together,
As new togethers meet and merge.
Old longings are told with tones of weather
Casual as personnel purge.

But your blue sky is my blizzard,
Your record high my frost,
A cold-hearted, emotional lizard,
No heat within my skin embossed.

In my mind
I find
The best could’ve: Could’ve
Just stayed blind.

To never know this truth
And feel it root
In my still/beating
Heart.”

So many quotes!!!:

“The best you ever had
Is just a memory and those dreams
But as daft as they seem
Not as daft as they seemed
My love when you dream them all”
-“Fluorescent Adolescent” by the Arctic Monkeys

“Send it in a letter
Make yourself feel better”

“And it may take some time to
Patch me up inside
But I can’t take it so I
Run away and hide
And I may find in time that
You were always right
You’re always right ”

“Now I’m here to stay
Love can be so boring
What was it you wanted?
Could it be I’m haunted?”
-“The Best I Ever Had(Grey Sky Morning)” by Vertical Horizon

Leave a Reply

