‘On Deaf Ears’ (new poem)

Mondays are usually hard. However, my most recent Monday, also known as yesterday, was unusually awesome. Therefore, today has been absolutely awful, though some wonderful people are going to try to improve upon it soon. Before their chance to do that, though, I wrote this. Enjoy!

On Deaf Ears 
By Maggie McGinity

I’m not myself today
And that’s a shame
Because I think you like myself okay.
I do, too,
But I’m not her, and I’m not you.
I’m so confused.

What can I say?
What is the take-away?
Will there come a day
I’m no longer afraid
Of this bursting, breaking dam
Of who I’m not and who I am
And my cap(ped)abilities?
Fall off of this trapeze?
Or fly with ease?

This will not compute.
I am made to be unmute(d).
But no time to shout or scream,
No room to dare or dream
Any role or goal outside this room.

I wish this would’ve happened sooner.
Now the pressure in my throat and lips,
Mismanaged, meddling fingertips,
Leaves me lunar.

Break two mirrors and
Timing
Will focus all your fears.
Rhyming
Goes back for years and years,
Miming
Life falling on deaf ears.”

Quotes:

“Listening is the most dangerous thing of all, listening means knowing, finding out about something and knowing what’s going on, our ears don’t have lids that can instinctively close against the words uttered, they can’t hide from what they sense they’re about to hear, it’s always too late.”
-“A Heart So White,” by Javier Marias

“I’ve learned to get really good at this – say one thing when I’m thinking about something else, act like I’m listening when I’m not, pretend to be calm and happy when I’m really freaking out. It’s one of the skills you perfect as you get older”
-“Delirium,” by Lauren Oliver

Leave a Reply

