‘This Stage’ (new poem without regard for any projects or plans)

People are the best and worst thing to ever happen to me. I used to think I liked books better than people, but now I know that I like books better than most people. I look back on this weekend and am glad I’m not like 99% of the people I was around. Still, I wish I had been reading, or eating, or sleeping, or just around more than one person I’d known for more than five minutes.

Maow. Live and learn would apply if the same old lessons would stop circling through my life.

This Stage
By Maggie McGinity

Simple
Straightforward
Secrets

No regrets have I
For dramas passed by.
There are stages for such undertakings.

Bright lights, cheesy lines
Do theatre just fine,
But best left out of bonds made for breaking.

Though passion’s the fashion,
A lack I not fear.
My blood quickly boils,
My eyes quickly tear.
Dramatics internal
Sustain any need.
Nightmares diurnal
Constancy’s creed.

I long to be boring.
I live to be bored.
Ignorance ignoring
Chances chored.

There are more effective ways to garner attention
Than pressed preparation, pre-packaged pretension.
Any apparent apprehension
Come and gone in this complete comprehension.

It’s dark and the faces can’t be seen.
I’m losing steam in this fever scene.
I’d rather miss out on where I’m not missed
There are worse ways to exist

So I’ll mind my mind without assistance
Retain this rarity of resistance.
Impressive intensity of insistence,
Drag me not into this instance.
Fluke or not, I’m all I’ve got, and I remain to distance.”

Quotey quote quotes:

“Drinking is such a necessity to human life that people cannot fathom an individual who, like a child confined to a church pew, gets little enjoyment out of it and would rather do other things.” – Criss Jami

“If you see me out, you don’t know me
Try to turn your head, try to give me some room
To figure out just what I’m going to do”
-“Back 2 Good,” by Matchbox 20

“I care about strangers when they’re abstractions, but I feel almost nothing when they’re literally in front of me.” – Chuck Klosterman, “I Wear the Black Hat: Grappling With Villains”

Leave a Reply

