‘Make-up-your-mind-Go-Round’ (new song)

I shared this on Facebook shortly after it came into existence, but there have been requests(with some indignation) to put this on my blog as well, and since recycling is green and I have no new complete poem at the moment, this seemed like the perfect thing for this week’s Monday post.

On Wednesday night, I was between Praise Band rehearsal and The New Age play practice, and I was supposed to be practicing flute. Instead, I sat down and wrote this. Enjoy!

Make-up-your-mind-Go-Round
By Maggie McGinity

Lyrics:

I just want some place to leave my heart
Scattering a trail of its parts
I just want to burrow in the ground
Get off this make-up-your-mind-go-round
On and on and on it goes
Where it stops? Nobody knows

I just want some place to leave my head
Complicated visions in my bed
Dreaming’s for the sleeping and the lost
As my daydreams keep upping their cost
Up and up and up they go
Reach the top? Nobody knows

I just want some place to leave my will
As aspirations go in for the kill
I can’t take the whole pack at once
But I can’t say this is what I want.
Round and round and round I go
Where I stop? Nobody knows

Quotes:

“Stop in somebody’s shadow to rest and cool down, and you are lost. No one can make anyone else happy.”
-Peter Deunov

“In this world, it is too common for people to search for someone to lose themselves in. But I am already lost. I will look for someone to find myself in.”
-C. Joybell C.

“House hunting is easy. It’s the catching it part that’s difficult.”
-Susan Gale

Leave a Reply

