‘Flowers’ & ‘Flowers(In Perspective)’: an exercise in amusement

It’s all about how you look at things, right?

Except that perspective will not change the fact that I’m going into this week alone and I will go out of this week alone(and in Minnesota. Details). Really I should just stop looking at the negative things in my life and then they’ll disappear. Like magic. Poof.

Anyways. I want flowers, no one’s going to give me flowers, therefore, poetry flowers. And an exercise which will amuse anyone who gets its humor. Enjoy!

Flowers
By Maggie McGinity

Roses are red
Violets are blue
I am upset
And I’m blaming you

Daffodils are yellow
Daisies are white
You’re a fine fellow
But you can’t get it right

Carnations are pink
And sometimes they’re green
I know I overthink
And sometimes am quite mean

But roses are red
And violets are blue
Inside I feel dead
When I’m right next to you.”

Flowers(In Perspective)
By Maggie McGinity

Roses are red
Violets are blue
You’re stuck in my head
So I’ll try a new view:

Roses are scarlet
Violets are azure
This poem hasn’t gone far yet
But of it I’m sure

Roses are cardinal
Violets are sapphire
These moments are marginal
They set me on fire

Roses are vermillion
Violets are violaceous
You’re one in a billion
Wish I could replace us.”

Quotes:

“I will be the gladdest thing under the sun! I will touch a hundred flowers and not pick one.” – Edna St. Vincent Millay

“A weed is but an unloved flower.”  – Ella Wheeler Wilcox

“If you’re feeling blue, try painting yourself a different color.” – Hannah Cheatem, age 8

“Color me your color, baby
Color me your car
Color me your color, darling
I know who you are”
-“Call Me” by Blondie

Leave a Reply

