‘Can’t Tell’: a lost and found poem, and ‘(Just) Words on a Screen’: a mystery

Here we have two very different poems.

The first I wrote on Tuesday(I think). I opened a new tissue box at work and found the cardboard piece I’d just ripped off very pleasantly shaped. Later I was caught up in a song on my “Summer Hits of the 90s” Pandora station and I wrote a poem, but I didn’t want to write it on just any medium. So I wrote it on cardboard.

Image

 

I then promptly forgot about it when it fell on the floor by my workstation on my rush to class. I found it today, and was swept with nostalgia and happiness at its recovery. Here is what is says for people who can’t read my handwriting:

Can’t Tell
By Maggie McGinity

I can’t tell if this music reminds me of  you
Or of me
Either way, I’m in love
With who I’m thinking of
Every little joy, each persistent fear
Melts away into the music in my ears”

 

Here is another poem, written quickly and panickedly as I quickly travelled to and from brushing my teeth today before playing flute.

(Just) Words on a Screen
By Maggie McGinity

I just want it to be over
But there’s no end in sight
I can’t get through the day
I can’t sleep through the night

I just want it to be over
Nothing is all right
It is so much harder
Having you in my life

Time is running out
This could not be more true
I want to scream and shout
Stop avoiding something new
Delay to get your own way?
Deadline’s overdue

I wish I was just starting out
I don’t know what to do
But I can never live with myself if I can’t find
Some way (somewhere) to live with you”

Quotes:

“Now do you believe in rock and roll
Can music save your mortal soul”
-“American Pie” by Don McLean

“Music is the literature of the heart; it commences where speech ends.”
-Alphonse de Lamartine

“I don’t know what’s right and what’s real anymore
And I don’t know how I’m meant to feel anymore
And when do you think it will all become clear?
‘Cause I’m being taken over by the fear”
-“The Fear” by Lily Allen

“I can’t seem to find the words I mean, so I try to hold my tongue
While I lay wide awake and restless, you should read it”
-“Go to Hell” by Go Radio

Leave a Reply

