‘Thinking On’ (new poem)

Things to know about me:

1. About 60-75% of my quotes come from songs I happened to be listening to at the time I was writing a poem.

2. I’m working on a really big post.

3. This is not that post. That post will hopefully come later this week, once I’ve finished the illustrations I’ve decided need to go with it.

4. Today I got hired for a second part-time job this summer, so I will be working 35 hours a week at 2 jobs which pay fairly well and are in my field of study. Hurray!

5. I’m trying to figure my life out. If everything was conducted in interview form, I would be golden, but life is full of many more complexities, simplicities and subtleties than I know how to deal with.

6. This poem began as a filler to stand between this deadline(post EVERY Monday) and the poem with illustrations, but now stands quite well on its own. Might have something to do with the state I was in when I wrote the majority of it. I should try this more often. Enjoy!

Thinking On
By Maggie McGinity

On what basis?
Responsible adult in stasis
Room to range, room to grow
But room’s just space when no one knows

Space is cold, a silent void,
A vacuum where all life’s destroyed
Unless contained within a sphere,
Some protective layer, or so I hear

On what basis?
Responsible adult in stasis
Timelines and guidelines
I’m making up mine

Hoping these figures and facts
Won’t be irrelevant
My perpetual lack
Every room’s elephant

On what basis?
Responsible adult in stasis
The daydreams are easier to fight off
But heart contracts a constant cough

It’s foolish, really,
And quite silly,
The days go on and on
While I’m left thinking on

The word on my heartstrings
Like a bell, it rings
Would were it with wings
I know it never brings

Anything to do
Anything needs thinking through
The way I do
All I do”

Quotes:

“It was the heat of the moment
Telling me what your heart meant
Heat of the moment shone in your eyes”
-“Heat of the Moment” by Asia

“The world is full of people who will help you manufacture tornados in order to blow out a match.”  – Shaun Hick

“If you never did you should. These things are fun, and fun is good.” – Dr. Seuss

Leave a Reply

