NaPoWriMo #1: ‘Foolin’ ‘

It’s April Fool’s Day! Not my favorite day, though I do appreciate some pranks, usually played on other people.

It does seem like the perfect day to write a poem about being fooled, and being a fool. I hope you enjoy!

Foolin’
By Maggie McGinity

I take jokes
Like you take smokes
Tryin’ to hide the ashes.
In your limited schoolin’
Did you learn foolin’
Battin’ those black black lashes?
True true blue
Don’t apply to you
Lit up like the skies.
Still showed me off more
Than most after/before
Danger days over fries.

I take offense
Like your ‘defense’
(Silently) scream and shout.
In your overdue schoolin’
Did you learn foolin’
Just tryin’ to get out?
Gone gone green
Missed and mean
Surreptitious smooth talks.
Terrible truth
Wasted youth
Won over watered-down walks.

I take pranks
Like your ships sank
Quietly containing sea.
In your summer schoolin’
Did you learn foolin’
Could never set you free?
True true blue
Goes too well with you
Lookin’ back in time.
Though I bristle and bruise
I’d still rather lose
You over learnin’ to rhyme.

Can’t take tricks
But I make licks
That sting worse than a knife.
In my score-plus schoolin’
Know just who I’m foolin’
‘to thinkin’ it’s my whole life.
Good and enough
Handle me rough
Tuckin’ me into the tomes.
I’m rumors and records,
A heart double-deckered,
All in all, all-import’,
All alone.”

Quotes:

“We all want something beautiful
I wish I was beautiful …
Believe in me
Help me believe in anything
I want to be someone who believes …
Believe in me because I don’t believe in anything
and I want to be someone to believe”
-“Mr. Jones” by the Counting Crows

“I don’t want to take advice from fools
I’ll just figure everything is cool
Until I hear it from you…”
-“Til I Hear It From You” by The Gin Blossoms
Leave a Reply

