NaPoWriMo #2: ‘Angrier’

It’s getting warmer.

Image

(poem-appropriate image. For we are living in a visual world, but I am a written-word girl)

Angrier
By Maggie McGinity

Apples are the best angry fruit
Piccolo is the angriest flute
In winter I wither waiting for roots
Summer I sizzle, smothered in my soot

Anger’s just fear, fear is just sorrow
Torn-up twists in all your tomorrows
Knowing they’re just like your yesterdays
Problems and poor me’s pushed into play

Boxed-in boxer, trapped in society
Presenting calm in piety
Though I’ve run so fast, I’ve run so far
There’s something I’ve missed
The take-away twist
Silence, and someone to spar”

Quotes:

“This is what we do. Not so much argue as joust, in jest. We can’t stop pushing and pulling the taffy of words and concepts.” 
-“The Twoweeks” by Larry Duberstein

“There are some people who like nothing better than a good, regular quarrel.” 
-“Indiscretion” by Jude Morgan

“The silence is the worst part of any fight, because it’s made up of all the things we wish we could say, if only we had the guts.” 
-“Gray” by Pete Wentz

Leave a Reply

